Easy Apple Crumble

I’m a huge dessert person that doesn’t make dessert. No particular reason; I hold nothing against pastry chefs or pastries specifically, nor am I deathly afraid of the vaunted ‘Ice Cream Machine’ on Iron Chef America. In fact, I love cake and regard peanut butter chocolate ice cream as one of the Divine Culinary Accomplishments of Modern Times. I just never really make dessert. If I do, that means heat some pre-prepped nestle or tollhouse or pillsbury dough and serve, often with an accoutrement (berries, whip, honey, nuts). Otherwise, it’s a bowl of cereal or sherbet after dinner and I’m good to go (to sleep).

This past week ushered in inspiration through necessity as we had one lone green apple peeking through our kitchen fruit basket. Green apples are generally too tart for me to enjoy like a fuji or braeburn, but I do know that their sharp, piquant flavor is the magic behind a delicious apple pie. But back to the cooking part – I don’t make crust, so pie is out. Or is it?

The recipe below simulates an apple pie flavor as closely as I could have hoped, especially with no background in the discipline. It’s best served in a small portion to accentuate the natural simplicity of this elegant dessert. I’m still not 100% certain that my crumble recipe is optimal, but for not ‘peeking’ at any existing recipes, I’m very happy with the result here.

Ingredients

  • 1/2 Green Apple
  • 1 tsp EVOO + 1 pat butter
  • 1.5 tbsp brown sugar
  • 1/2 tsp cinnamon
  • 1 dollop whipped cream
  • 1 tsp panko bread crumbs

Directions

  • toast panko breadcrumbs on low heat, stirring frequently
  • once panko starts browning slightly, add 1/2 of brown sugar and a pinch of cinnamon, pat of butter
  • stir until browned but not burnt, and slightly clumpy.
  • set crumble aside
  • One half of green apple minced the way you would an onion
  • Sauté in small sauté pan on low medium heat
  • Add half teaspoon EVOO
  • Sauté until coated, add tablespoon brown sugar stir add quarter teaspoon of cinnamon
  • Sauté until slightly softened and all flavors are mixed
  • add crumble to the apple, stirring to mix, serve immediately with dollop of whipped cream and coarse salt, maldon preferred
  • Butter in lieu of EVOO is mad acceptable
Leave a Reply

